Tags

This quote is from a few days back, from Philip Yancey’s Grace Notes, pg. 389

As the kings of Judah demonstrate with monotonous regularity, it takes uncommon courage to rely on God alone at a moment of great peril.  Even the best of them dip into the royal treasury to purchase help from neighboring allies.  But King Jehoshaphat provides a textbook example of the proper response.  When invading armies threaten, he calls the entire nation together in a giant prayer meeting.  On the day of battle, he sends a choir in front of his army to sing praises to God…By his public prayer and personal example, King Jehoshaphat shows what can happen when a leader places complete trust in God.

Unlike King Jehoshaphat, I’m not facing a moment of great peril.  In fact, my life is quite the opposite.  It’s safe, peaceful and I wake up pretty much doing the same thing day in and day out.  So what is with the interest in Jehoshaphat?  Put us together and we couldn’t be any more different.  But I look at him and wonder if he could at such a time turned to God and relied on Him alone, shouldn’t I, too, be able to do the same?  So why not be like Jehoshaphat in this way?  I’m not facing invading armies, but I do face distractions and busyness that invade my time and vie for my attention.  Though outwardly it may seem less important and trite, these distractions and busyness can be just as dangerous in fooling me to believe that I don’t need to rely on the Lord.  Whether in peril or in apathy, the call is the same-to rely on the Lord.

The temptation to buy help from neighboring allies makes sense, even advisable.  When I’m tired and feel done, my temptation is to get frustrated or angry or to try to find some way to take time for myself even if it be a few minutes for myself.  It’s natural to get frustrated, even angry especially with the many tantrums, when the kids are being disobedient, or when they’re fussy and cranky from being sick.  No one would likely fault me for wanting to take a few moments of peace to read on my computer or watch a TV show.  But I often squander these few moments of peace by looking at things of no consequence on the internet, watching TV, instead of responding properly, praying.

As crazy as it sounds, what would it look like if when my daughters are going a little wild I started singing, I started praying aloud, I started my own church service.  Probably no crazier than Jehoshaphat turning the battlefield into a widespread church service of their own.

As a stay at home mother it can often feel lonely.  When the kids are sick, even lonelier-staying at home for days on end isolated in a sort of quarantine with a crying, fussy, cranky baby not knowing when she’ll get better.  These couple of months as my children have been catching every known cold, more so than any other year, it has been stretching my faith and my character.  It has tested my patience, my perseverance, my endurance and love.  It’s been challenging to know how to enter Jesus’ rest in the midst of these times of isolation with my sick children.  No going to BSF.  No going to MOPS.  No going to church.  But as Jehoshaphat can testify meeting Jesus, reliance on Him can take place anywhere from a battlefield to a living room in the burbs.  He showed in a real crucial way what it looks like for a leader to completely place His trust in God.  I hope that I may be able to show in small way the same thing as a mother placing my complete trust in God.  We know Jehoshaphat’s story, who knows what may happen if I do the same.

