From 1 Peter 3:15a, 17 NLT

“Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life… Remember, it is better to suffer for doing good, if that is what God wants, than to suffer for doing wrong!”

When I became a mother, I realized that the biggest challenge was being at my best when I was exhausted.  There’s a sort of survival mode that I’ve been living in during these past eight months and also the year before when my first daughter was born.  To a great degree, I understand that this is just necessary.  At the end of the day, sometimes, it’s a victory to know that you all came out of it alive.  Both my girls have struggled with sleeping through the night.  My first, it took about a year.  I’ll let you know when the other one sleeps through the night.  There are the days, however, where I know I could’ve done more but didn’t.  The reasons aren’t surprising, because if I use my energy to do something beyond survival I’ll be tired later and will feel like I can’t do that one more thing, I’m discouraged, did I mention I’m tired, I’ll be expected to do that extra thing everyday and I don’t know if I can.

The one thing I can’t get past, however, is the fact that this isn’t the kind of life Jesus calls us to.  I can guarantee Jesus has experienced far longer and deeper exhaustion than I can imagine, much less experienced.  Yet, he consistently gave of himself to strangers and to his disciples.  When you’re constantly called to give of yourself whether you feel like it or not, you have two choices-to grit your teeth and bear it or to “worship Christ as Lord of your life.”  For too long, I’ve been gritting my teeth and bearing it.  And for too long, I’ve been running on empty.  The truth is, I don’t really know what it’s like to worship Christ as Lord of my life as a mother of two.  But I’m guessing Jesus can teach me.  If anything, I think it looks like thinking of him, praying to him, giving to him my exhaustion, my needs, my insecurities and laying it before him even if all I can say is, “Help me.”

I’m not currently facing persecution for my faith like the Christians that Peter is speaking to here.  The question is if I’m going to “suffer” why not do so while doing good. It’s no longer a matter of doing the best I can and just surviving, but doing better with Jesus’ help.

From 1 Peter 3:18 NLT

“Christ suffered for our sins once  for all time.  He never sinned, but he died for sinners to bring you safely home to God.  He suffered physical death, but he was raised to life in the Spirit.”

